The problem with cheating Reversi forum

11 replies. Last post: 2009-08-27

Reply to this topic Return to forum

The problem with cheating
  • quartastella at 2009-08-26

Hello all.

My nick is quartastella. I've been playing Reversi/Othello for a total of about 18-20 months and I really enjoy the game. My ratings in both 8x8 and 10x10 are in the 1700's and likely to stay there. I don't spend much time thinking about each move and I'm very inconsistent. I started playing at Little Golem a few months ago and I love the format with monthly cups and championships. The championship idea is fantastic. Whoever came up with it and organizes it deserves a lot of credit for it. I was thinking to become a member or at least a supporter but …

Unfortunately I also became aware of the problem with cheating. I wanted to start a separate thread because I'm interested in knowing what everyone thinks. Cheating is, of course, a major problem with Reversi/Othello at any site because even the top players in the world can't beat average computer programs. Below are a few questions to start the discussion. I answered the questions with my opinions but I'd love to hear what everyone thinks. If you have more to add, please do so.

What represents cheating?