I'm developing Dots and Boxes for Vying Games... Dots and Boxes

81 replies. Last post: 2008-04-17

Reply to this topic Return to forum

I'm developing Dots and Boxes for Vying Games...
  • Eric Idema at 2008-02-18

Hi, I'm working on adding Dots and Boxes to Vying Games ( vying.org). I'm still very new to this game–I've only played a handful of games with x-rated here on LG.

I'll probably get it wrapped up sometime this month, but before I get too far along with it, I thought it'd be a good idea to ask if there are any features a new Dots and Boxes site should have?

I'm planning on 6x6, is this a good grid size?

• Greck at 2008-02-18

i think wccanard gave some arguments saying 5x5 was the best size. I hadn't enough knoweledge to understand him, though :)

• FatPhil at 2008-02-18

5x5 boxes, 6x6 dots, is best.

Basically, 5x5 dots is 'solved', and 7x7 dots and higher tend have higher endgame values, which means that more of the time you just want to win the long chain battle at almost any cost.

• wccanard at 2008-02-18

I think 5x5 boxes, i.e. 6x6 dots is the best. I suspect Gregorio was talking about boxes and not dots.

Yes, I had some kind of argument was to why 6x6 was the one worth bothering with on a game site. Phil has summarised it correctly. I can give more details.

Let me stick to square boards, just for aesthetic reasons, and when I say

t x t, I mean t *boxes* by t *boxes*.

2x2 is just like a harder version of 0s and Xs; you just learn the winning lines and that's it.

3x3 is even easier—there's a basic “strategy” [P2 forces a chain through the middle of the board and uses a standard trick to ensure it's the only one, and then learns to recognise the few special cases where this trick doesn't work]