play in a short chain rather than a long one? Dots and Boxes

26 replies. Last post: 2007-12-10

Reply to this topic Return to forum

play in a short chain rather than a long one?
  • wccanard at 2007-05-08

In Berlekamp's book on dots and boxes, he asserts that a canonical dots and boxes player will never play in an independent chain if there is a shorter one available. By this he means (I think!) that if there are two independent chains of lengths a **br>

I had imagined that the proof of this assertion would be rather easy. If a>=3 or b<=2 then it is, but if one chain is short and one is long then the argument seems to me to become much more subtle. Am I right (it is subtle) or am I missing something simple?

wc**

• wccanard at 2007-05-08

Apologies for the multiple post: I've been caught out by html tags (this is my first time in the forum). The garbled part of the post above is supposed to say

…if there are two independent chains of lengths a and b, with a less than b, then there is no situation where opening the chain of length b is a winning move, but opening the chain of length a is a losing move.

• Feen at 2007-07-01

I assume both a and b are independent of any other chains too?

• michael at 2007-07-02

Wouldn't it be better to move into the longer chain first in a situation like this:

*--*  *--*  *|  |  |      *--*  *  *--*      |  |  |*--*--*  *--*|  |  |  |*--*--*  *  *|  |  |  *--*--*--*  *

• michael at 2007-07-02

ok, forget that bad example. But i'm sure there are situations where it's better to move into the long chain. Especialy if chains end in quads or loops.

• wccanard at 2007-07-03