Possible die problem StreetSoccer

25 replies. Last post: 2003-10-24

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Possible die problem
  • agoui (limited edition) at 2003-09-11

Ever since Richard modified his die throw routine I have noticed that some extraordinary die throws happened.
    I will mention three exambles from games where I was involved. I will also try to calculate the possibilities of the event happening, even though I am not an expert on these (so be kind if I make a mistake):

Examble 1: one player had five 1s in a row. The chances of this event happening are 1 in 7776! Btw the next two throws of the same player were 3 and again 1!

Examble 2: one player had a sequence of 6, 5, 5, 4, 6, 5 and the other had at the same time 2, 1, 3, 1, 3, 3. The chances for six in a row throws of 4+ or 3- are 1 in 64. For both events to happen at the same time it is 1 in 4096!

Examble 3: one player had four 6s in a row then a 3 and then two 5s. The chances of four 6s are 1 in 1296! Btw the total pips for the two players were 106 to 80.

If only one of the above happened I wouldn’t consider it strange. It seems though that there are too many extraordinary throw combinations and in my opinion there should be a problem somewhere. And as I said these are not the only exambles!

• FC Cwali at 2003-09-11

(The first turn the chance on a 1 is 5/15, so 33%.)

• Taral at 2003-09-11

I just did some quick calculations, regarding your example 1. (Of course, I may have made some wrong calculations.)

The probability that during 25 throws the same number shows up on five consecutive throws is 1.36%. Thus, the probability that at least one of the players in a game has five consecutive throws with the same number is 2.70%.