Dameo capture and promotion Draughts, Checkers

6 replies. Last post: 2016-12-14

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Dameo capture and promotion
  • ypercube ★ at 2016-12-13

    Example: game 1808461, move 70 (by Black).

    After the capture of B2, the black is promoted to a king and captures C1 as well.

    Is the black piece considered a king immediately after the first capture or not?

    If yes, the it would be allowed to continue and capture 4 white pieces (and due to the maximal capture rule, the only move allowed).

    But if no, then the only allowed move is to capture 2 white pieces and end at D1 (and not in E1 or F1, etc) as the black piece is promoted toIf a man ends its move on the opponent’s back row, it is promoted to king. A man passing the back row in a capture, but not ending on it, does not promote. king only after the move is completed.

    If a man ends its move on the opponent’s back row, it is promoted to king. A man passing the back row in a capture, but not ending on it, does not promote.

    In any case, this site should have one link to the most accurate rules. We shouldn’t have to jump through hoops from site to site to find the rules. Nor we should have to go read rules in 3 or 4 different sites to find the exact ruling for all cases, however extreme or rare they are.


    I assume that the answer is No (the second) but the rules are not clear on this (neither in Wikipedia, the iggamecenter site).

    Only the mindsports site has this:

    > If a man ends its move on the opponent’s back row, it is promoted to king. A man passing the back row in a capture, but not ending on it, does not promote.

  • ypercube ★ at 2016-12-13

    My post was pretty much garbled. See the new edit, below:

  • ypercube ★ at 2016-12-13

    Example: game 1808461, move 70 (by Black).

    After the capture of B2, the black is promoted to a king and captures C1 as well.

    Is the black piece considered a king immediately after the first capture or not?

    If yes, the it would be allowed to continue and capture 4 white pieces (and due to the maximal capture rule, the only move allowed).

    But if no, then the only allowed move is to capture 2 white pieces and end at D1 (and not in E1 or F1, etc) as the black piece is promoted to a king only after the move is completed.

    I assume that the answer is No (the second) but the rules are not clear on this (neither in Wikipedia, the iggamecenter site).

    Only the mindsports site has this:

    > If a man ends its move on the opponent’s back row, it is promoted to king. A man passing the back row in a capture, but not ending on it, does not promote.

    In any case, this site should have one link to the most accurate rules. We shouldn’t have to jump through hoops from site to site to find the rules. Nor we should have to go read rules in 3 or 4 different sites to find the exact ruling for all cases, however extreme or rare they are.


  • christian freeling ★ at 2016-12-14

    Hi Yper, in this case the man captures b3xd1. There its move ends. After that it is promoted to king and the turn ends. 



  • William Fraser at 2016-12-14

    What if the white piece on d3 had been on d2?

    1.  Would black capture it (yes).

    2.  Would black promote (no?).

  • Rex Moore at 2016-12-14

    @William Fraser: If that happens black would not promote, and instead continue the capture and land at d3 still a mere man.

Return to forum

Reply to this topic




Include game board: [game;id:123456] or [game;id:123456;move:20] or [game;id:123456;move:20;title:some text]