Clarification of rules Word games

3 replies. Last post: 2003-08-24

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Clarification of rules
  • labradors at 2003-08-24

    Since I am just starting GWG, a few of the rules are a bit hazy to me, especially since they are not directly stated:

    1) It would appear that words may only be formed by tiles which are connected by the lines of the board. Is this true?

    2) It would appear that play may not “wrap around” the board, e.g. having a word begin on the right side of the board and continue, on the same line, on the left side of the board. Is this true?

    3) The rules just state that “tiles are replaced from board and another tiles from bug [sic] are put on the board.” First, I presume this means, “tiles are removed from the board and other tiles from the bag are put onto the board.” When, however does this occur? Is each tile immediately replaced as soon as it is removed, or only after the turn is completed?

    4) Continuing with the idea from (3), if the tiles are replaced immediately, do the new tiles from the bag become immediately playable in that same turn? If the tiles are replaced only after the turn is completed, does that make the location from which a tile has been removed count as an empty space for the purpose of connecting to other letters? As a simple example, would “O B W L” spell “BOWL” by starting with the “B,” moving left to the “O,” then moving back right again, over the space vacated by the “B,” to pick up the “W” and “L”?

    The way these particular situations are handled could greatly affect the potential for scoring in a game, and would also make a difference in deciding how to bid in the first stage of the game.

    Thanks!

  • Judy at 2003-08-24

    >1) It would appear that words may only be formed by tiles which are connected by the lines of the board. Is this true?
    Yes that is true.

    >2) It would appear that play may not “wrap around” the board, e.g. having a word begin on the right side of the board and continue, on the same line, on the left side of the board. Is this true?
    Correct, words cannot wrap around the board.


    >3) The rules just state that “tiles are replaced from board and another tiles from bug [sic] are put on the board.” First, I presume this means, “tiles are removed from the board and other tiles from the bag are put onto the board.” When, however does this occur? Is each tile immediately replaced as soon as it is removed, or only after the turn is completed?
    Only after the entire word is formed, and the player clicks on “Send” will the tiles from the bag replace the tiles that were used. You do get a preview though when your word is formed and you click (I think is is a Submit?) the button to verify that it is an allowable word. Then you hit “Send”.

    >4) Continuing with the idea from (3), if the tiles are replaced immediately, do the new tiles from the bag become immediately playable in that same turn?
    No
    I found out more about playing the game by actually playing the game than reading the Rules. You can find many willing opponents in the Waiting Room and just have a go at it.
    I hope this helps...

    Judy

  • labradors at 2003-08-24

    Judy,

    Thanks for the help. I actually had just started a game when I wrote this, but some of those clarifications would make a huge difference in what I would be willing to bid, so I wanted to be sure before I found myself in the hole.

    Thanks again.
    --Rob

Return to forum

Reply to this topic




Include game board: [game;id:123456] or [game;id:123456;move:20] or [game;id:123456;move:20;title:some text]