There is a boring lack of variation in this game... Game of Empathy

17 replies. Last post: 2015-12-26

Reply to this topic Return to forum

There is a boring lack of variation in this game...
  • Recalcitrant at 2015-06-25

I started playing this game recently, and it was interesting and fun for a bit, but now we keep getting words that are similar to the last played word. We had three letters in a row, and then we had leg and foot just now; this makes many of the top words the same week after week. It would be nice if words that are similar aren't placed consecutively.  Also, the words are pretty general and simple, which is fine, but it might be interesting to up the difficulty level occasionally.

• Elisa Kabiljo at 2015-06-26

I agree with you, Topic selection is a big problem. At first players voted for next topic and repeated topic were selected very often. Richard try to solve this with “Now WORD for game is chosen from popular answer and never used words.” and we have similar topic to play.

It is evident that Empathy have a big problem. Players number show this: at a beginning we have about 100 players and now less than 20.

If somebody have idea how to solve this, let say it. Maybe Richard will implement it.

• gamesorry ★ at 2015-06-27

I think at least one simple constraint could be enforced to avoid the repeating issue: if a word appears in X times (by everybody) in the past Y games, then it shouldn't be selected as the new topic.

• Pinobambu at 2015-07-02

I'd like the topics (or at least some of them) to be randomly chosen from different external sources, for example, Word of the day in Wiktionary, Today featured article from Wikipedia, Trending topics, Google Trends, etc. This way I think we'd have more variety in topics.

• scrampy at 2015-08-16