Three-fold repetition! LOA forum

13 replies. Last post: 2019-01-09

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Three-fold repetition!
  • Nagy Fathy ★ at 2019-01-07

    Can someone explain why this is counted as a three-fold repetition?

    #2004256 Nagy Fathy ★ vs. emilioes
    8 black white white
    7 white white white white
    6 black white black black
    5 black black black
    4 white black black black white
    3
    2
    1
      a b c d e f g h  

  • Carroll ★ at 2019-01-07

    The rule says: "If a position with the same player to move occurs for the third time, the game is drawn. "

    Moves 32, 36 and 40 yield the same position (with black to move), even if it was not a7 but b7 which have been moved on move 32.

  • ypercube at 2019-01-07

    Yes, it seems somewhat different that then 3-move repetition rule in chess where the same position has to appear 3 times (with same player to move) and the same move be played in each of the 3 positions.

  • Nagy Fathy ★ at 2019-01-07

    For me as a chess player, there is only two repetitions here, but if this is the rule, I can’t complain!

  • kp4to at 2019-01-07

    move 32,36,40The pieces were in the same position.  
    Is not exactly the quantity of moves, it seems to be "3 times in the same position in a row"

  • ypercube at 2019-01-07

    @kp4to they were not in a row. They were just 3 same positions.

  • ypercube at 2019-01-07

    Oops, sorry. I seems they were. But I think that’s irrelevant.

  • Carroll ★ at 2019-01-08

    I can’t find this rule for chess (and the same move be played in each of the 3 positions), do you have a pointer Yper?

  • ypercube at 2019-01-08

    I meant what the official rules are for chess 3-repetition. Not sure how it has been implemented here.

  • Carroll ★ at 2019-01-08

    I mean in the rules I can’t find that the same move have been played:

    From FIDE,


    9.2 The game is drawn upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same


    position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by a repetition of moves):


    a. is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or


    b. has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.


    Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.

    Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant can no longer be captured in this manner. When a king or a rook is forced to move, it will lose its castling rights, if any, only after it is moved

  • Carroll ★ at 2019-01-08

    Sorry for the formatting...


    9.2 The game is drawn upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same


    position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by a repetition of moves):


    a. is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or


    b. has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.


    Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.


    Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant can no longer be captured in this manner. When a king or a rook is forced to move, it will lose its castling rights, if any, only after it is moved


  • ypercube at 2019-01-08

    My bad then. I was remembering the details wrong (hey, it was 30 years ago when I called the arbiter to declare such a draw)

  • Nagy Fathy ★ at 2019-01-09

    After reading the law carefully, I had to admit, I thought that the rule stated three same positions that are resulted from the same three moves. 

    What I have missed in the rule is " (not necessarily by a repetition of moves)".

    I think I have learned something new here!

Return to forum

Reply to this topic




Include game board: [game;id:123456] or [game;id:123456;move:20] or [game;id:123456;move:20;title:some text]