championship is black hole?? LOA forum

7 replies. Last post: 2010-12-31

Reply to this topic Return to forum

championship is black hole??
  • Ray Garrison at 2010-07-22

I took some time off from LOA (due to the large number of cheaters). Since Jamaica apologized for his cheating and dropped out of competition, I decided to join again. Now I see that the championship is black hole? Is this the first time the championship is black hole? I don't know if I should be glad or sad. I guess glad because it can limit the cheaters, I guess sad because I have zero experience in this variation. What do you think?

• kingofthebesI at 2010-07-23

This is the first time the championship is blackhole, this was discussed in the blackhole thread before Jamaica retired. I advocated both black hole championship as well as regular LOA but with a preference to blackhole because of jamaica type behaviour.

No-one has that much experience with black hole, the skillset is similar to regular LOA, although there are differences!

• Carroll at 2010-07-23

Oh I missed the registration for the championship!

If I knew it was black-hole this would have been more motivation to register.

The main difference I see from limited experience I have, is that trapping only one or even two pawns from the rest of your opponent's formation may not be enough if they manage to escape and dive into the black-hole in the end game, so material advantage is not so important as the main use is that…

The other big difference is the size, altering the way to block, to go to center and the fact that many more pawns will be stacked, mainly on diagonals.

I think it is a better game than standard LOA (despite the small artificial added peculiarity of black-hole), more deep and that may show more strategy than tactics.

• Ray Garrison at 2010-07-23