Bots? Dots and Boxes

53 replies. Last post: 2014-01-16

Reply to this topic Return to forum

Bots?
  • Christian K at 2013-04-01

Is anyone working on bots for this game? Since the game is so mathematical (lots of parity stuff) and has so little clarity for humans, I think there could be excellent bots. The only one I know is RoRoRo which seems to play random but know the chain rule.

Anyone else working on bots? Or is there some reason that the game is harder for bots than I thought.

• lorentz at 2013-04-01

I’m no expert in dots and boxes, but I know a fairly strong program can be written using nimbers as described in: The Dots and Boxes Game: Sophisticated Child’s Play, by Elwyn Berlekamp. As far as I recall The Shark, written by William Fraser, was/is one of the best programs. But I’m not really sure how it would fare against good players here, especially on larger boards.

• Christian K at 2013-04-01

It would be fun to see it in action :)

• ypercube at 2013-04-01

There have been bots that played quite well. Enough to play in the top league. Search for “Knox”.

• ypercube at 2013-04-01

They played in the first 6 championships. Knox and Knox B

• Christian K at 2013-04-12

Why did they stop?

Wccannard is accusing someone of cheating in the 18th championship. Is he talking about help from machines or a player with multiple accounts?

• Christian K at 2013-04-12

Or maybe man in the middle type stuff playing the opponents against each other.

• Dryad at 2013-06-27

The_Shark_c

Interesting :)

• Christian K at 2013-06-28

Interesting indeed. I looked at the game between it and RoRoRo. I was especially curious to as if it was able to satisfy boxes to win the chain battle. Sadly, that was not necessary there, so it is unclear to me how ‘intelligent’ it is.

• Christian K at 2013-06-28

Its move 25 http://www.littlegolem.net/jsp/game/game.jsp?gid=1555729&nmove=25 seems to show some intelligence (I forgot the tag to include a board in the thread).